The Most Important Business Lesson I Learned From My Father

My father and I have a tumultuous relationship to put it mildly. From a young age I remember we would sit together in the living room watching the evening news. Then over dinner we would discuss it. We never agreed on anything (and still don’t!). My poor mother would sit between us and try to stop us from arguing. You see we are both stubborn to a fault and never back down from a challenge.  As I got older I had the rare opportunity to go to work with him and watch him in his office. Now I realize how priceless that was.

He taught me a crucial business lesson that has stayed with me till today. Never give up. I have seen my father go through so much over the years, but he has never given up. What ever the challenge or difficulty, no matter how overwhelming the odds, he will overcome them. He never feels sorry for himself or blames anyone else. His faith, tenacity and strength of character see him through. Now that I’m a successful Executive Speech Coach and Keynote Speaker myself I appreciate that even more. I owe so much of my success to him and to what I learned in those formative years.

Now when I am faced with an obstacle, difficulty or challenge in my professional life I think ‘What would my father do?’ and that gives me the strength to keep going. Be strong and determined and you will succeed. Never give up on your dreams. Happy Fathers Dad! I love you.

Share

2 Comments

Filed under Business, Family, Personal Growth

2 responses to “The Most Important Business Lesson I Learned From My Father

  1. Rosa

    Nargis, I really enjoyed reading your article on “Most important business lesson I learned was from my father” what a wonderful lesson he taught you….from a wonderful teacher no doubt.

    Rosa 🙂

  2. Sudhin Choksey

    I know your dad since i spent almost 10 years working very closely with him. He has a strong conviction and also passionate and hence gets stubborn about his convictions and his goals. He then tends to word very hard and even demands toughness from himself with discipline. He has the ability to persist and persevere for the goal he sets. He has a great marketing and salesman’s mind with sharp commercial sense. When he gets into his selling mode, he is a great charmer to his customers. A lot to learn from him

Leave a Reply

